High school thespians honored

10:04 PM, May 02, 2013

The cast from Webster Schroeder High School perform the finale from Footloose during the Stars of Tomorrow event at the Auditorium Theatre on Thursday. (KRIS J. MURANTE//STAFF PHOTOGRAPHER)/

Written By | Staff reports

High schools from across the region took their turn on the stage of the Auditorium Theatre on Thursday as they found out which of their musicals would be honored in the Rochester Broadway Theatre League’s Stars of Tomorrow program.

The show is fashioned after the Tony Awards, although there are several winners in every category.

Those who were recognized in the best actor and best actress category will be back on May 23 to compete against each other for the two spots (one male and one female) that the area has on the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in New York City in late June.

Outstanding musical production

Division D: Avon High School, The Music Man; Geneseo High School, The Sound of Music; Le Roy High School, Anything Goes; Wheatland-Chili High School, Guys & Dolls.

Division C: North Rose-Wolcott High School, Curtains; Williamson High School, The Sound of Music; Marion High School, Pippin; Sodus High School, Wizard of Oz.

Division B: Newark High School, Drowsy Chaperone; Livonia High School, Young Frankenstein; Wayne Central High School, West Side Story; Midlakes High School, Dr. Doolittle.

Division A: Greece Arcadia High School, Beauty and the Beast; Greece Athena High School, Legally Blonde; Rush-Henrietta High School, Evita; Victor High School, Jekyll & Hyde.

Outstanding leading actor

Division D: Josh Carey and Patrick Hogue, Wheatland-Chili High School; Ben Kelly, Geneseo High School; Dean Yencer, Avon High School.

Division C: Garrett Coons, Lyons Senior High School; Conner Burry and Noah Barnes, North Rose-Wolcott High School; Bryce Porter, Marion High School.

Division B: Gil Donahue and James Morrison, Livonia High School; Ben Northrup, School of the Arts; Ryan Tracy, Newark High School.

Division A: Joey Cantatore, Aquinas Institute; Harris Turner, Rush-Henrietta High School; Stephen Heller, Victor High School; Teddy Coffey, Webster Schroeder High School.

Outstanding leading actress

Division D: Maureen Edwards, Notre Dame High School; Melita Kingston, Geneseo High School; Joanna Northrup, Campbell-Savona High School; Claire Nichols, Wheatland-Chili High School.

Division C: Mikayla Bastian, Lyons High School; Laura McDoramn, North Rose-Wolcott High School; Kiersten Davis, Sodus High School; Julia Cannon-Bailey, Gananda High School.

Division B: Mary Martin, Albion High School; Allison Mullen, Wayne Central High School; Megan McNiffe, Our Lady of Mercy High School; Gretta Cavatassi, School of the Arts.

Division A: Sophia Scarpulla, Greece Arcadia High School; MacKenzie Wright, Greece Athena High School; Kit Prelewitz, Rush-Henrietta High School; Rebecca Rand, Irondequoit High School.